ABC Jazz Home > Features > 'Black Ice' Wolfert Brederode

'Black Ice' Wolfert Brederode

Wolfert Brederode 4by3
May 19, 2016 Updated May 27, 2016

New music this week on ABC Jazz out of Holland, with pianist Wolfert Brederode's latest album.

Following a string of quartet recordings on ECM, Wolfert Brederode now sets his focus on a trio - forming a new band with bassist Gulli Gudmundsson and drummer Jasper van Hulten. The album's called Black Ice, and is once again an ECM release.

Tracks in this feature

1. 'Elegia'
2. 'Olive Tree'
3. 'Bemani'
4. 'Black Ice'
5. 'Cocoon'
6. 'Fall'
7. 'Terminal'
8. 'Conclusion' (G. Gudmundsson)
9. 'Curtains'
10. 'Rewind'
11. 'Bemani (var.)'
12. 'Glass Room'
13. 'Fall (var.)'

All compositions by Wolfert Brederode, except where indicated

CD: Black Ice by Wolfert Brederode (ECM 2476), track 'Black Ice' available to stream for 1 month after broadcast.
Image: Wolfert Brederode's Website

Feature Type
More about
tag Register to add tags


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Comments from unregistered users are subject to ABC moderation and will not appear until they are approved - there will be a delay until they are published.
Create A Profile to add comments straight away.

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
six times equals twelve
Solve this math question and enter the solution with digits. E.g. for "two plus four = ?" enter "6".
Sign up to the weekly newsletter
Enter your email address
Other ABC music sites