ABC Jazz Home > Features > 'Hard Mince' James Whiting

'Hard Mince' James Whiting

James Whiting
Aug 18, 2015 Updated Aug 27, 2015

Fresh music from Brisbane vibes player James Whiting, who has been busy recording in New York City.

The Brisbane-born vibraphonist James Whiting has spent time recently in New York City. Whilst there, he went into the studio to record his latest CD - titled Hard Mince. The band features an international contingent of US heavyweights Jonathan Kreisburg (guitar), Geoffrey Keezer (piano), Richie Goods (bass) and Jon Wikan (drums), plus a guest appearance from Aussie expat Adrian Cunningham on tenor sax. The album follows suite from his previous recording titled Burbank (also tracked in New York), and it contains ten original compositions from Whiting.

Tracks in this feature

1. 'Hard Mince'
2. 'Heartbeat of the Divine'
3. 'Just A Dream'
4. 'August Sun'
5. 'Through the Looking Glass'
6. 'August Sun' (Solo Vibes)
7. 'Dancin' Fool'
8. 'Cultures Combined'
9. 'Applied Back Pressure'
10. 'Right Place, Right Time'

All compositions by James Whiting

In the band

James Whiting; vibraphone
Geoffrey Keezer; piano
Richie Goods; double bass
Jon Wikan; drums
Jonathan Kreisberg; guitar (tracks 1, 5, 7, 9)
Adrian Cunningham; tenor sax (tracks 3, 10)

CD: Hard Mince by James Whiting (Independent release JW002)
Image: James Whiting's Facebook
Feature Type
More about
tag Register to add tags


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Comments from unregistered users are subject to ABC moderation and will not appear until they are approved - there will be a delay until they are published.
Create A Profile to add comments straight away.

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
times seven equals 42
Solve this math question and enter the solution with digits. E.g. for "two plus four = ?" enter "6".
Sign up to the weekly newsletter
Enter your email address
Other ABC music sites