Thursday Night Live:

ANJO's Debut

170728 ANJO 1 4by3
Page added Jul 28, 2017 Updated Aug 15, 2017

Australia now has a National Jazz Orchestra, and ABC Jazz recorded their debut performance at the recent Sydney Con International Jazz Fest.

Playlist Information

A playlist and listen-again audio are available for 1 month by clicking the play button above after the broadcast.

Join us on Thursday Night Live as we preview the very first outing of the Australian National Jazz Orchestra - recorded at the inaugural Sydney Con International Jazz Festival. The project was spearheaded by Sydney saxophonist David Theak (pic) - and he brought together some of the country's most prominent jazz musicians under one roof to perform music by composer and arranger Nick Mulder.

Leading the ensemble were key soloists Mat Jodrell (trumpet) - originally from WA - as well as New Zealander Roger Manins on tenor sax. The Australian National Jazz Orchestra also includes names from all over Australia - such as James Muller (Adelaide) on guitar, Mike Rivett (Cairns) on sax, Sam Anning (originally from Perth) on bass, Ben Vanderwal (Perth) on drums, Hugh Barrett (Sydney/ACT) on piano, Julien Wilson on sax (Melbourne) and Dave Panichi (Sydney) on trombone. 2016 National Big Band Composition Competition finalist Nick Mulder contributed all of the compositions, debuting some new works - as well as some of the music he wrote for the Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra at Foundry616 last year (see live stream below).

Tracks in this feature

1. 'Mambo For ANJO'
2. 'Child's Play'
3. 'Prelude To A Kiss' (Ellington)
4. 'Resolution'
5. 'A Blue Interlude'
6. 'Nigeria'


David Theak (NSW)
Carl Mackey (WA/VIC)
Mike Rivett (QLD)
Julien Wilson (VIC)
Nick Bowd (NSW/QLD)
Roger Manins - featured soloist (NZ)


Dave Panichi (NSW)
James Greening (NSW)
Ellie Shearer (NSW)
Colin Burrows (NSW/QLD)


Simon Sweeney (NSW)
Darryl Carthew (NSW/SA)
Eamon McNelis (VIC)
Ricki Malet (WA)
Dan Quigley (QLD)
Mat Jodrell - featured soloist (VIC/WA)

Ryhthm Section

James Muller; guitar (SA)
Hugh Barrett; piano (ACT)
Sam Anning; bass (VIC/WA)
Ben Vanderwal; drums (WA)

Nick Mulder; compositions and arrangements (VIC/SA)


2016 NBBCC Live Stream

Presented by James Kennedy
Image by Aaron Blakey, used with permission courtesy of Dave Theak and Nick Mulder
More about
tag Register to add tags

Listen again

Audio has expired.


Aug 10, 2017. 9:00pm - 9:50pm

More episodes of Thursday Night Live


On Aug 10, 2017. 9:41pm
Anonymous said

This is unreal. Amazed to look it up and discover that it wasn't a European band. Congratulations everyone.

On Aug 10, 2017. 9:28am
Anonymous said

Yes women are under represented in the jazz scene. But that band andall the players stand for gender equality . Theak is involved in promoting women in jazz. I'm trying to encourage my female school students to get into jazz. We're trying :)

On Aug 8, 2017. 6:21pm
Anonymous said

Only one girl huh...

On Aug 1, 2017. 11:26am
Anonymous said

Wonderful news. This is indeed another welcome boost for Australian jazz.
There are numerous outstanding musicians in this team who'll no doubt produce some astounding music.
Christopher Lynch.

Post new comment

Comments from unregistered users are subject to ABC moderation and will not appear until they are approved - there will be a delay until they are published.
Create A Profile to add comments straight away.

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
times five equals 35
Solve this math question and enter the solution with digits. E.g. for "two plus four = ?" enter "6".
Sign up to the weekly newsletter
Enter your email address
Other ABC music sites